Western Canadian Ringette Championships

The Western Canadian Ringette Championships (WCRC) are an annual competition that brings together teams from Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia.

Each of the four western Canadian provinces is eligible to send one provincial team at each age division. The host is able to enter a host team at U16, U19, and 18+ to create a five team division. U14 is a ten team division made up of two teams from each province and two wildcard draws.

2024 Western Canadian Ringette Championships

The Western Canadian Ringette Championships took place in Calgary, AB from March 27 -30.

BC was represented by five teams, who displayed exceptional teamwork, sportsmanship, and skill on the ice.

U14 Blue, U14 Red, and U16 Team BC (Zone 6) faced tough competition in pool play, and exhibited resiliency and dedication in their commitment to leaving it all on the ice.

U19 Team BC (Zone 2) exhibited true grit in a series of close, exciting games culminating in a Bronze Medal on the final day of competition.

18+A team BC from Kelowna (KRA) went undefeated in round robin play, and carried their standing forward to capture the Gold Medal for the third year in a row.

Special shout outs to the following athletes who were recognized at the WCRC Banquet and Awards

  • U14AA All Star: U14 Red – Chelsea Koch
  • U16A All Star: U16 Team BC (Zone 6) – Rachel Campbell
  • U19A All Star: U19 Team BC (Zone 2) – Farryn Leigh
  • 18+A All Star: 18+A Team BC (KRA) – Stephanie Russo
  • U19A Fastest Skater: Dawson Karkut

For more information on the 2024 Western Canadian Ringette Championships, click HERE.

Western Canadian Ringette Championships – BC History

Year Location U14 AA U16 A U19 A 18+ A
 2024  Calgary, Alberta  did not place Did not place – (Zone 6)  Bronze (Zone 2) Gold (Kelowna)
 2016  Richmond, BC Fourth Gold (Richmond) Bronze (Fraser Valley)
 2015  Calgary, Alberta  Silver  Gold (Kelowna)  Fifth
 2014 Winnipeg, Man  did not place Gold-Vernon  3rd-Surrey  N/A
2013 Regina, SK  4th (LMRL) & (5th) North  4th (Kelowna)  4th (Quesnel)  N/A
2012 Kelowna, BC


  Gold (Delta)   4th (Delta) Bronze (Kelowna – Host)
2011 Sherwood Park, AB


Bronze (Delta) 5th (Kelowna) 5th (Prince George)
2010 Winnipeg, MB n/a Gold (Burnaby) 5th (Quesnel) Bronze (Richmond)
2009 Saskatoon, SK Bronze (NORTH) Silver (Delta) 5 (NWVan) Bronze (Richmond)
2008 Prince George, BC Silver (LMRL) Bronze (Van) 4 (NWVan)
2007 Medicine Hat, AB Bronze (TORL) 5 (NWVan) 4 (Kelowna)
2006 Winnipeg, MB 5 (LMRL) Bronze (TORL) Gold (Delta)
2005 Regina, SK Silver (LMRL) Bronze (Surrey) 4 (Burnaby)
2004 Delta, BC Bronze (LMRL) Silver (Delta) Gold (Port Coquitlam [host])
Silver (Delta/Richmond)
2003 Calgary, AB Bronze (LMRL) Bronze (Poco)
2002 Saskatchewan, SK Bronze (LMRL)
2001 Winnipeg, MB Silver (LMRL)
2000 Burnaby, BC Silver (LMRL)
1999 Bronze (LMRL)
1998 4th (LMRL)